The other day I was sitting in a courtroom waiting for a hearing to begin and I overheard a young Charleston DUI lawyer explain to his client the penalties if she pled guilty to a DUI. Unfortunately, the lawyer got it wrong when he explained the potential jail time involved. Essentially, he told her that she faced up to 30 days in jail. However, he did not tell her that because she had a BAC of over .16, she could be sentenced from 30 to 90 days in jail. I didn’t want to embarrass this lawyer in front of his client, so I pulled him aside and privately pointed out his mistakes so he could go speak with his client again to “clarify” the penalties for a DUI in South Carolina.
Wading through all of the “legalese” in South Carolina’s statutes regarding the penalties for a DUI and cross-references to other statutes can be confusing. To make things simple, we’ve prepared this infographic showing the fines, jail sentences, license suspension periods, and other consequences such as SR-22 insurance for a DUI 1st through DUI 4th in South Carolina. Please note these penalties also apply to a conviction for Driving with an Unlawful Alcohol Concentration (DUAC).
Charleston DUI Defense Lawyer
If you’ve been charged with a DUI in Charleston, Mount Pleasant, Summerville, or Goose Creek, call us for a free consultation.